About the NCEA Elizabeth Ann Seton Award

The NCEA Seton Award is named after Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton in recognition of her lifelong dedication to teaching. This award is presented annually to exemplary individuals whose support and service impacts Catholic education and the well-being of our nation’s youth. Seton honorees have a scholarship presented in their honor to a deserving Catholic school student in the local community.

NCEA Seton Gala

Seton honorees are recognized at the NCEA Seton Gala, which raises funds to support NCEA’s research, leadership development, and advocacy programs that support Catholic school educators and students. The next Seton Gala will take place on Monday, October 1, 2018.

Nomination Form

2017 Seton Honorees

Most Reverend Robert J. Carlson
Archbishop of St. Louis 

Dennis J. Smith (Posthumous)
Catholic Philanthropist, Manteno, IL

Rita and Lamar Hunt, Jr.

Founder, Loretto Companies
Kansas City, KS & Kansas City, MO

Joseph E. Weston

President, Weston Investment Company
Portland, OR

Seton Scholars

Named after Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton in recognition of her lifelong dedication to teaching, Seton honorees are able to select a deserving Catholic school student, in their local community, to be presented with a scholarship in their honor. Today, NCEA Seton Scholars represent more than 2 million students attending Catholic elementary and secondary schools nationwide. The scholarships they receive are named in honor of the Seton honorees. The 2017 Seton Scholars are:

Reggie Love
Archbishop Carlson Seton Scholar
Trinity Catholic High School, Saint Louis, MO

Sophie Keigher
Dennis J. Smith Seton Scholar
Bishop McNamara Catholic High School, Kankakee, IL
Cielo Itzel Barroso Espidio
Joseph Weston Seton Scholar
Holy Cross Catholic School, Portland, OR

Adrian Daniel DeHaro
Rita and Lamar Hunt Jr. Seton Scholar
Bishop Ward High School, Kansas City, KS

Aprille Castaneda
Rita and Lamar Hunt Jr. Seton Scholar
Notre Dame de Sion, Kansas City, MO


NCEA Seton President's Award

The NCEA Seton President's Award is also bestowed during the annual Seton celebration, honoring outstanding individuals whose professional dedication to Catholic education has enhanced the well-being of our nation's youth and U.S. Catholic schools in particular.
This year NCEA is pleased to present the Seton President's Award to: 

Sr. Mary Angela Shaughnessy, SCN, J.D. PH.D. 
Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA

2017 Seton Honoree Videos



Contact Information

Matt Russell
Chief Advancement and Business Development Officer
(571) 451-2877

2018 Seton Nomination Form
(Adobe PDF File)

NCEA 2019 Call for Proposals

The NCEA 2019 Call for Proposals is officially open. Good luck!



Important articles and best practices in the realm of Catholic education.


Renew Your Membership Today!

Continue to take advantage of the tools, resources and opportunities your NCEA membership provides!