NCEA President's Awards

NCEA is honored to recognize individuals for their outstanding contributions to Catholic education with the President's Awards. The awards will be presented in conjunction with the NCEA 2020 Convention & Expo on Monday, April 13, 2020 in Baltimore, MD at a special awards banquet. The convention opens on April 14 and closes on April 16. Each award recipient is expected to be present at the convention to receive the award.

Leonard F. DeFiore Parental Choice Advocate Award

This award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in promoting full and fair parental choice in education.

Catherine T. McNamee, CSJ Award

This award is presented to an individual or institution that offers exceptional leadership in promoting a vision of Catholic education that welcomes and serves cultural and economic diversity or serves students with diverse needs.

C. Albert Koob Merit Award

This award is given to an individual or organization that has made a significant contribution to Catholic education at any level – early childhood, elementary, secondary, higher education – or in any educational setting, in one or more of these areas: teaching, administration, parish religious education, research, publication or educational leadership.  The awardee’s service and contribution should be recognized as having current significance at the national level.

Msgr. John F. Meyers Award

This award is presented to an individual who has provided substantial support for Catholic education through contributions in the areas of development, public relations, scholarship programs, financial management, or government relations.

Dr. Karen M. Ristau Innovations Award

This award is presented annually to an individual, school or program that has furthered the mission of Catholic education through an innovative program or approach.

Meet the 2019 President's Award Winners

Mary Ellen Russell, Director of Community Affairs for the Archdiocese of Baltimore, will be recognized with the Leonard F. DeFiore Parental Choice Advocate Award.

Lisa D. Oi, Principal at Saint Therese Chinese Catholic School, will be honored with the Catherine T. McNamee, CSJ Award.

The Foundation for Catholic Education in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia will be honored with the C. Albert Koob Merit Award.

The Most Reverend David J. Walkowiak, Bishop of Grand Rapids, Michigan, will be presented with the John F. Meyers Award.

Lisa Cinadr, Principal at St. Ambrose School in the Diocese of Cleveland, will be the honoree for the Dr. Karen M. Ristau Innovations Award.


Past President's Award Winners

View Past President's Award Winners

NCEA 2020

Join us in Charm City for NCEA 2020, April 14-16, 2020!


ICSL 2019

ICSL 2019 will feature professional development sessions specific to Catholic school principals, assistant principals, presidents and pastors.



The publication offers relevant, timely and important articles and best practices.