Three Catholic School Principals Announced as 2017 National Distinguished Principals

NCEA congratulates the 2017 NAESP National Distinguished Principals from the Archdiocese of Chicago, the Diocese of Dallas and the Diocese of Oakland.

Arlington, VA — The National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA) applauds three Catholic elementary school principals named as winners of the 2017 National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) National Distinguished Principals Award. The NAESP will present the awards in Washington, D.C., at a two-day celebration October 12-13.

“National recognition for our principals is well deserved and gratifying,” said NCEA’s Assistant Director of Leadership Development Annette Jones. “As models of exemplary mission-based educators, the three honorees provide their schools and communities with a balance of faith-filled Catholic education and academic excellence.”

NAESP recognizes elementary and middle-level administrators for setting high standards for instruction, student achievement, character and climate for the students, families and staff in their learning communities. For more information, visit

The winning Catholic school principals of the 2017 NAESP National Distinguished Principals Award are:

Phyllis Cavallone-Jurek, St. Therese Chinese Catholic School, Archdiocese of Chicago
Patrick O’Sullivan, Christ the King Catholic School, Diocese of Dallas
Kenneth J. Willers, School of the Madeleine, Diocese of Oakland


Rooted in the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA) is a professional membership organization that assists its members to fulfill their teaching mission of the Church and to lead, learn and proclaim the good news of Catholic school education. For more information, visit