NCEA President's Awards

NCEA is honored to recognize individuals and organizations for their outstanding contributions to Catholic education with the President's Awards.

The nomination period for the NCEA 2022 President's Awards is now open. Recipients of the five awards will be honored at NCEA 2022 in April in New Orleans.

Nominate an Individual or Organization



School administrators (principals, presidents and heads of school), pastors, teachers, diocesan leaders, organizations and supporters of Catholic education may be nominated for these awards. Self-nomination is not permitted and nominators can only nominate one person for one award. Students and parents may nominate an individual. Nominator may not be related or in a relationship with the nominee. In order to nominate someone, please submit a maximum of 250 words explaining how this individual exemplifies the specific President's Awards. Nominations are due by February 5, 2022.

Leonard F. DeFiore Parental Choice Advocate Award

This award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in promoting full and fair parental choice in education.

Catherine T. McNamee, CSJ Award

This award is presented to an individual or institution that offers exceptional leadership in promoting a vision of Catholic education that welcomes and serves cultural and economic diversity or serves students with diverse needs.

C. Albert Koob Merit Award

This award is given to an individual or organization that has made a significant contribution to Catholic education at any level – early childhood, elementary, secondary, higher education – or in any educational setting, in one or more of these areas: teaching, administration, parish religious education, research, publication or educational leadership.  The awardee’s service and contribution should be recognized as having current significance at the national level.

Msgr. John F. Meyers Award

This award is presented to an individual who has provided substantial support for Catholic education through contributions in the areas of development, public relations, scholarship programs, financial management, or government relations.

Dr. Karen M. Ristau Innovations Award

This award is presented annually to an individual, school or program that has furthered the mission of Catholic education through an innovative program or approach.

Meet the 2020 President's Award Winners

Doreen Engel, adjunct faculty member at the Andrew M. Greeley Center for Catholic Education, Loyola University Chicago, was honored with the Catherine T. McNamee, CSJ Award.

Sister Patricia Helene Earl, IHM, Ph.D., Professor of Education and Director of the Catholic School Leadership Program at Marymount University, was honored with the C. Albert Koob Merit Award.

Stephen and Barbara Slaggie, founders of the Vision 2020 Education Foundation, were presented with the John F. Meyers Award.

Notre Dame Academy Schools of Los Angeles were the honorees for the Dr. Karen M. Ristau Innovations Award.


Past President's Award Winners

View Past President's Award Winners